Dates & Locations

City elections are held in odd numbered years. The mayor is up for election every two years and three of the six council seats are elected two years for four year terms. The city is divided into three wards with two council members from each ward.

The city is responsible for running local, state, and national elections with the assistance of the Clay County auditor’s office. Elections are held at the Barnesville Senior Citizens Center at 501 2nd Avenue NE and the polls are open from 7:00 am until 8:00 pm.

Voter Registration

Voters may register on election day or pre-register at the county auditor’s office at the Clay County Courthouse, 807 11th Street North, Moorhead, MN 56561. Their phone number is 218-299-5006.